A man behind the Indian Rupee Symbol : D Udaya Kumar

The Indian rupee sign is the currency symbol of the Indian rupee or currency, it is the official currency of India. This rupee symbol is designed by Udaya Kumar Associate IIT Professor at Guwahati. First it was presented to the public by the Government of India on 15 July 2010. Before the adoption of Indian rupee sign, the most commonly used symbols for denote the rupee were Rs or Re.

The design of Indian rupee sign is based on the Devanagari letter "" (ra) with a double horizontal line at the top. It also harmonize the Latin capital letter "R".


On 5 March 2009 for the design of new Indian rupee sign, the Indian government announced a contest to this. During the 2010 Union Budget, then Union Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee said that the proposed sign should reflect and capture the Indian cultural ethos and tradition

Almost 3,331 application received for creation of new Indian rupee sign, five symbols were shortlisted for this, Nondita Correa-Mehrotra, Hitesh Padmashali, Shibin KK, Shahrukh J. Irani, and D. Udaya Kumar and one of them D. Udaya Kumar sign was selected at the Union Council of Ministers of India meeting held on 24 June 2010. Finally the Ministry of Finance and Department of Economic Affairs of the Government of India had approved this sign and approval was given by Sushil Kumar, Under Secretary of the Government of India.

However, the decision was deferred at the request of the Finance Minister of India, and the final decision was made on 15 July 2010, when they chose the symbol created by Udaya Kumar, Associate Professor IIT Guwahati.